UPMCommunication Papers
Story | 11/10/2021 09:00:00 | 3 min Read time

Nominations announced for Newsawards 2021 – In total 15 impressive entries for UPM Premier Award

Innovation is in the heart of UPM and a coherent part of our Biofore vision. As a reliable paper supplier, we believe in delivering innovative solutions that support our customers business. Investing in new products and technologies is crucial to this and requires in-depth knowledge of both market and technology trends. Likewise, an understanding of innovation trends in news publishing helps to steer development at UPM. The commitment to innovation is demonstrated in our long-standing partnership with the UK based ‘newsawards’ and its international 'Print Awards' category. UPM first became a newsawards sponsor in 2004.

Since introduced in 2013, UPM's premier award has become one of the most sought-after trophies to win. Knowing that innovation and innovative thinking is key to the continuing success of the printed newspaper, the category has attracted young apprentices, both male and female, to time-served seasoned printers with 30 years’ experience working with newsprint.

This year there were 15 entries in the 'Print Production Achiever of the Year' category. After thorough consideration the entries in 'Print Production Achiever of the Year’ as well as 19 other categories were scrutinised by 20 judges with specialist knowledge across print, production, editorial and commercial discipline.

UPM Print Production Achiever of the Year

The UPM Print Production Achiever of the Year award will be presented to an individual who has made significant strides in their professional development since January 2020. The Award is only open to print production employees involved in disciplines relating directly to the actual production of a printed newspaper e.g. printing, mailroom, pre-press, distribution and consumables procurement. 

This individual will have had a positive impact on their organisation and his or her peers. The entry will show evidence of:
• personal achievements
• adding value to their organisation
• leadership or leadership potential
• creativity and innovation

Judges were looking for innovation, enhanced production efficiency, creative or commercial implementation of print for newspapers, whilst also demonstrating commercial benefits to printers and publishers. Judges were especially interested in how publishers working with printers are innovating to ensure the continued sustainability of the printed word at a time of many challenges. Newspapers can deliver a powerful editorial and advertising message, using creative techniques.

The nominees of the 'Print Production Achiever of the Year' category

The nominees of the 'Print Production Achiever of the Year' category are:

Alan Catchpole – production manager, Newsprinters
Rob Champion – assistant technical services manager, Newsprinters
Francesca Evans – editor & print managing editor, LymeOnline newspaper
David Hartop – production manager, Newsprinters
Phil Hudson – production manager, Newsprinters
Mitchell Marley – trainee electronics technician, Harmsworth Printing
Jayleigh Price – No.1 print operator, PCP
Nick Taylor – production manager, Newsprinters

Gary Cullum, Director of newsawards, says: "Since the move to a people-based award, a number of printers and publishers have worked hard to have a staff member recognised for their outstanding contribution to the business. I love to see the many hundreds of entries flood into our two awards offices each year and see how they have evolved year on year."


It has been a hugely challenging 18 months due to Covid-19 but the awards team has been amazed at the strength of many of the entries across the 20 categories.

All the winners will be announced at a gala dinner on Thursday 11 November 2021 at the Lancaster London.

newsawards 2021 - all nominations 

About newsawards 2021

Celebrating the best in news media print, technology and business innovation.

newsawards 2021 all twenty categories are open to entries from the United Kingdom and the Republic of Ireland except The International Newspaper of the Year Award that is only open to overseas published newspapers. International Digital innovation of the Year is open to entries from the United Kingdom, Republic of Ireland and overseas publishers and printers.